JS not enabled The Seven Wonders of the World - Daily Manchester
  • The Seven Wonders of the World
The  Seven Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World were created as early as the fifth century B.C.E the most well-known example was developed by the 2nd century Greek writer Antipater of Sidon, who celebrated these feats of human ability through poetry. In his poem he mentioned 7 wonders of the ancient world: Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Statue of Zeus, Temple of Artemis, Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes, Lighthouse of Alexandria. Of all the original Seven Wonders of the world only the Great Pyramid of Giza remains intact. The majority of the original wonders were destroyed by earthquakes or fire however, some people question whether some of the Wonders actually existed such as the Hanging Gardens of Babylon due to a location not being definitively established nor has there been definitive archaeological evidence discovered.


The New Seven Wonders of the World

The new wonders were chosen in 2007 through an online contest created by the New 7 Wonders Foundation where more than tens of millions of people voted. Spanning across four continents, the sites selected are incredible feats of human ingenuity. The New Seven Wonders of the World are: The Great wall of China, The Taj Mahal (India), Petra (Jordan), The Colosseum (Italy), Christ the Redeemer (Brazil), Chichen Itza (Mexico), Machu Picchu (Peru).


The Great Wall of China

Built nearly 1800 years ago The Great Wall consists of many overlapping walls combining to a length of about 10,000 to 20,000 km. It runs across mountain passes and ridges making use of the natural terrain available. Commonly believed is that the wall is just a single continuous structure however, it actually consists of multiple parallel walls. The Great Wall of China was built by China’s emperors to protect their territory, it runs along China’s northern border. The Wall was reinforced and improved throughout the years by China’s emperors adding features like watchtowers and platforms.


The Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal is a mausoleum (large monument created to enshrine the remains of a famous or powerful person) built in Agra, India by Emperor Shah Jahan to honour his wife Mumtaz Mahal who died giving birth to their 14th child. The Taj Mahal is made from white marble that features semi-precious stones (minerals used as gems but less valuable than precious stones) in geometric and floral patterns. It is a perfectly symmetrical building with one majestic central dome surrounded by four smaller domes. Leading up to the Taj Mahal is a reflecting pool which provides a reflective surface.


City of Petra

Petra is an ancient city in Jordan which is in the Middle East. Petra is located in a remote valley surrounded by sandstone mountains and cliffs. It is half-built, half-carved into the rock. It was created by Nabateans and was established as a trading post. It accumulated a significant amount of wealth which resulted in it being attacked by Greek invaders whom they successfully fought back against taking advantage of the mountainous terrain surrounding the city. However, eventually the Romans would invade Petra forcing the Nabateans to surrender. At its peak Petra had a population of roughly 30,000 which began to decline due to earthquakes.


The Colosseum

The Colosseum is located in Rome built in the 1st century by the Emperor Vespasian it is an amphitheatre (open circular building with central space surrounded by tiers of seats for spectators for dramatic or sporting events) it was capable of holding up to 50,000 spectators who entered through one of its 76 entrance arches. Most notably spectators watched gladiator fights as well as men battling animals. Reportedly 500,000 people died in the Colosseum in addition, so many animals were captured and killed there that certain species reportedly became extinct. The Colosseum’s outer wall stands at 157 ft with the perimeter being 1788 feet. The central arena is oval shaped being 287 ft long and 180 feet wide.


Christ the Redeemer

An enormous statue of Jesus stands on top of Mount Corcovado in Rio de Janeiro. It is the most recently constructed of the new Seven Wonders being developed in 1922 and being opened in 1931.It stands at 98 feet tall, and its outstretched arms span 92 feet long. However, due to its location being atop a 710-meter-tall mountain, its vulnerable to weather and damage from lightning. Back in 2014 the tip of Jesus’s right thumb was damaged during a storm. The statue was created due to a fear of “increasing godlessness” in the country. The Roman Catholic and a group of locals became concerned about the lack of religious faith in the Brazilian community and the statue was built in hopes to solve the lack of belief in God.


Chichen Itza

An ancient Maya city which at its peak was the most populous city in the entire Yucatan Peninsula which is located in Mexico. The city is roughly over 1,500 years old being built by Mayans around 250 AD to 900 AD. The city was eventually abandoned by the 15th Century by its people, suggested causes were that warfare and droughts caused the downfall of Chichen Itza. Its most notable monument is the Temple of Kukulkan, it features a total of 365 steps (equivalent to the number of days in a solar year) and stands at 75 feet it was intended to act as a physical calendar which perfectly aligns with the sun.


Machu Picchu

An Incan settlement built in the mid-15th century standing 2,430 metres above sea level in the eastern Andes mountains. It was discovered in 1911 by Hiram Bingham. The true purpose of Machu Picchu is unknown however, some scholars believe it was likely a pilgrimage site whilst others believe it was a royal retreat for the Incan emperor Pachacuti Inca Yupanqui.It was built in a classical Inca style with polished dry-stone walls, it has 3 primary structures the Intihuatana, the Temple of the Sun and the Room of the Three Windows. The Intihuatana stone was a ritual stone used by ancient Incans. It pointed directly at the sun during the winter solstice. The Temple of the Sun was a sacred precinct built by the Incas to pay tribute and give offerings to the sun inside Machu Picchu. The Room of the Three Windows is a large room made of huge boulders with 3 massive windows in the middle, it faces East allowing the rising sun to shine through, illuminating the sacred plaza.


Made by Imaad Khan



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *